Living my dream

By Mima

A treat to eat

There are times when living in cabins is a joy. 

At other times, less so. Such at at 1.15 this morning when I woke up and said “Bollocks!” having realised that I’d failed to put the two sourdoughs into the fridge for their overnight prove. 

At 5:30pm I had left them on the kitchen bench for what was intended to be a quick extra room-temperature prove before going into the cool. Then I forgot about them.

Were I living in a house I could have puddled along from bedroom to kitchen barely waking up. As it was I needed to find my dressing gown, shoes and a torch. And of course Bean was fascinated by such late night perambulations, so had to come too in case she missed anything (an extra surprise meal, a walk?).

I carefully shone my way across the lawn, avoiding balls and rope toys, and up the path and then negotiated the night-curtain on the inside of the truck door. Thoroughly awake.

The bowls of sourdough successfully moved, I then reversed the journey, waited for Bean to have a pee, sang her a wee sleeping song and got back into my still warm bed. I slept like a baby.

The dough would probably have been okay had I left it, but once I knew it wasn’t in the fridge I also knew I wouldn’t sleep. 

As it was it rose beautifully and baked well. 

I am especially pleased with my first fruit and nut loaf. It is moist and tastes fabulous. Thanks Jensphotos: my inspiration and recipe-supplier.

That was lunch sorted. Two slices of fresh plain sourdough with feta on top. Two slices of fresh fruit and nut sourdough with naked butter. 

Perfection.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.