Drinks of the day

It was the first time the cart made it to the quiet corner which is our pool area of choice.  It was a spiced rum and banana liqueur concoction.

I had a good long chat with a couple who are quiet corner regulars and had been out on a horse ride in the morning.

With just two venues left that we haven't tried fir dinner, tonight it was the 'Italian'. It was, by far, the worst yet.

The waiter was quite rude when taking our order.  They frequently struggle to understand us but saying 'what?' after 4 attempts to get a coke was both odd and unnecessary.  My tuna capaccio arrived frozen to the plate and without any sauce. I left it and when it was removed and I said why I'd left it there was just a grunt. My vegetable soup/cream was substituted with a fish, mussel and calamari one which I didn't like and also left. Before the next course arrived, i was asked by another member of staff how my meal was and I said it was terrible, explaining why. One of the cooks then appeared and I had to explain again. He insisted then that he would provide something special by way of remedy.  I said it was unnecessary but that I hoped my main course would be better.  The chicken breast milanese with spaghetti arrived and shortly after my special  plate of breaded prawns which are an appetiser from the adjacent lobster restaurant that are good and I'd eaten before.  The chicken was dry and it and the spaghetti were cold  I ate the prawns and swapped the chicken with Alun who said he'd try it as his own main course (a pizza) was inedible.

2 more staff arrived and asked me to explain my disappointment. By this time I just wanted to leave the restaurant.  I do not like to make a fuss, particularly for something so insignificant in the grand scheme of things. Particularly when i am, by now, stood in the middle of a very busy restaurant.I explained again and began to leave, only to be chased by yet another person. This one had a clipboard.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.