Magnificent!

We had quite a long Metro journey to get to The big Chamartin railway station for onward journey to Segovia, half hour train ride away with speeds up to 133 km! As we were buying the ticket at the station the ticket lady asked for passport or any official proof of who you are! S had a driving licence and all I had was my printed copy of the proof of vaccine with my name and address on it aaargh! Not any good she said. Racking my brains I realised when I got my new passport earlier this month there was a little paper info sheet where it said to put the number of your passport and issue date and unbelievabley I wrote it down and took a photo and I remembered this and gave it to her. She found me and married it up with vaccine letter and voila we got the ticket to Segovia!

Segovia train station is a wee bit out of the main line but buses run every 15 mins going to either Centro or viaduct for 4 euros each. We hopped on and then 10 mins later we got our first glimpse of this stunning feat of construction. Over 2 thousand years old and made of stone without mortar carrying water to Segovia .

We walked around the beautiful old town and the. Stopped for lunch in a Cafe down a side street run by a lovely Turkish guy. The food was so good we were both starving. More walking up the steps next to the aqueduct which offered a stunning view.

Train back to Madrid at 5 and long metro trip back to our station Sainz da Barranza. I was absolutely shattered!

A short rest and then Back out for a walk through the Retiro Park. It was so busy with people walking, folks working out at the outdoor gym area, dog walkers, joggers, - the park is vast and very popular. We couldn’t be bothered having food so had a smoothie and that was our tea. Definitely a calorie deficit day :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.