This is not...

...what I originally intended to blip today. The picture tells a story, but a short, incomplete version of it. The long version follows:

Since our silage chopper broke last summer, I have been considering buying a similar machine to replace it. There have been a few on sale, some almost as old and not good looking, but very cheap, and some newer, better looking and not too expensive either. Then one appeared on a website, a quite good looking and very cheap one, and not very far, just about 100 kilometres from us (most of the others were 200-300 km).

I called the seller on Wednesday, rented a trailer yesterday (it's too heavy for our own) and drove off with Jussi today morning to buy it and bring it home. Despite the bumpy roads and heavy load, all went well a little past half way home, when the engine of the van had a fault. A blinking yellow light, engine speed under 2000 rpm and not much power made it impossible to continue driving, so I had to call the road service, who connected me to the insurance company and they found me the nearest tow truck. Not very near though, we had to wait for almost an hour, but we got the van home, and the trailer, too.

After unloading the trailer, I still had to return it. Luckily The Niece's boyfriend could help with his van. Oh, I forgot to mention that my back snapped when we were loading the chopper for almost no reason. So now have a sore back and a dysfunctional van.

In the extra #1 the van and its load, when everything was still fine. We stopped at the very beautiful Salussärkkä esker on the way home to tighten the straps and to take a couple of photos. A view of the road with lakes on both sides there in #2. It would be a lovely place on sunny summer evening. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.