Pictorial blethers

By blethers

These boots ...

Well that was a change! After a lovely week I'd begun to get used to the sun, and it was still shining before I dragged myself out of bed this morning, but by elevenses the first rain was falling and the afternoon was horribly wet. Mind you, the dusty garden looks a lot happier after a good soaking...

It was also a change of pace for me. We've been so busy for the past ten days or thereabouts that this was the first in which I only had one thing that had to be done - I had to write the Intercessions for tomorrow's service. I was so tired and listless that in fact this wasn't completed till lunchtime; it seems that energy is kept up by adrenaline and seeps away altogether when there are no real demands. When I sat down after lunch I couldn't stay awake - and even when I was awake it was in a rather vague state that saw me attempting to scroll up the newspaper page with my thumb! 

It was really this, and the realisation that slumping in a chair wasn't doing my back any good at all, that drove me out in the rain when I should have been thinking of making dinner. I decided that perhaps it was time to be seeing how my walking boots felt, in light of the fact that two weeks for tonight, ceteris paribus and all that, the boots and myself should be in Italy for a walking holiday, and I've not worn them since that holiday in Arran when we climbed North Goatfell 18 months ago. I discovered that they no longer keep out the water, so I'd perhaps maybe give them a spray, and that my right foot feels as if it's grown, though maybe I simply need to tie the laces less tightly. 

And that's really it, for today - a feeble photo and a pretty feeble day. That's the trouble with having fun: it has to stop eventually. And no, I don't want the builders back to entertain me - not for a good long time!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.