Pictorial blethers

By blethers

Lost in the mists...

I didn't know what to call this blip. What I've come up with reflects two aspects of the day, and you can see the physical mists that in the morning were merely gloomy and chill and by late afternoon were swirling and breaking, letting light in and intensifying colour - it the case of the main photo that of the grass and the amazing gorse that seems more intense this year than I can remember. I think the farmer has spread muck on that field along the Ardyne shore, and now the black cattle are back enjoying it as the light glints along the shoreline before the next shower moves in from Bute to the south (first extra). 

These two photos came from a walk I'd vowed I'd not bother having. In the middle of the day, as we came home from church, a fine rain was falling and the temperature felt more like 7º than the 10º suggested by the car thermometer. We were cold and damp and needing coffee and I opined that I was so tired that I was just going to sit with the Sunday papers and doze my way through the afternoon. I should have known better.

Perhaps we were also feeling emotionally drained, made aware once more of how things are always changing in life. The second extra photo is of two of our friends from church, Richard and Yaro, whom we were seeing for the last time. They first met as young men in Africa when Richard went there to work, and now, some 60 years later, Yaro has been an annual visitor, usually coming around Christmas and staying till early summer before returning to Burkino Faso. Now Richard is moving south to be closer to his family and Yaro will no longer have any cause to come to our wildly different climate, where he usually has to snuggle into his big parka right into our early summer weather. Our church family will be the poorer for their going, and today we said goodbye with cake and fond words. 

In other news, the extra antihistamine last night seemed to have helped my allergic eyes a bit, but made me utterly dopey first thing. So what's new ...? I shall take another tonight.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.