The Lozarithm Lens

By Lozarithm

The Woodland Garden (Saturday 30th April 2022)

Blossom comes and goes very quickly and although I have photographed several times the bramley apple blossom in the patio and blipped it once I thought I would try once more and play around with the image while I had the chance. In the blip I have blown out some details and toyed with the colour balances and so forth. A more extreme attempt is in Extras.

L.
Sunday 1.5.2022 (1551 hr)

Blip #3645 (#3395 + 250 archived blips taken 27.8.1960-18.3.2010)
Consecutive Blip #005
Blips/Extras In 2022 #083/265 + #031/100 Extras
Day #4421 (1030 gaps from 26.3.2010)
LOTD #2789 (#2629 + 160 in archived blips)

Abstracts And Experiments series
Blossom series
Old Forge series
Flora series
Woodland Garden

Taken with Pentax K-50 (White) and Pentax D FA Macro 100mm F2.8 WR prime lens

Woodland Garden (April 2022) (Flickr album of 100 photos)

Lozarhythm Of The Day:
Neko Case - Be And Bring Me Home (2022)
"When we first started working on the May The Circle Remain Unbroken album, I saw a quote that Neko Case had posted on YouTube, which said basically that she felt like burning everything down after she first heard Roky [Erickson] had died on May 31, 2019. The passion of her sentiments punched me hard in my heart, because I felt exactly the same way. So when we were contacting artists to maybe record a Roky song for the tribute collection, I immediately thought of Neko. I knew how much she felt the loss but I didn’t know her to ask. But I did know Andy Kaulkin at Anti-Records, who worked with her there. He put me in touch with Neko’s manager Rachel Flotard, but it looked like with all her projects Neko wouldn’t be able to record in time. But I felt Roky’s spirit possess me, like it did that very first time I saw the 13th Floor Elevators in 1966 at a Houston club, and I absolutely believed she belonged on this album. It had to be. So I tried again and again, and finally a beautiful door opened and Neko’s recording of ‘Be and Bring Me Home’ was done. From the woods of Vermont, I think. It is such a beautiful expression of love and hope that I still am overcome everytime I hear it." - Bill Bentley (producer)
The song was written at a time when Roky was locked up in the hospital for the Criminally Insane in Rusk, Texas in the early 1970s, which was the start of his descent into worlds he did not deserve to be put in. But Roky never quit trying and believing in a world beyond where he was. That is what Neko’s incredible recording captures. Roky would be released and live to soar another day. And that happened over and over in his life, right up until the end. We are all able to learn what the beautiful human spirit is capable of, both from Roky and Neko’s lives. The circle is unbroken. - Paste Magazine
The starry-eyed pied piper of Austin, Texas' burgeoning 60s rock scene, Erickson was one of the truly mind-blowing pioneers of psychedelic music. First, as an original member of The 13th Floor Elevators (who formed in 1965) and again as a solo artist, Erickson delivered his message through song. Urgently and deeply, as if shot out of a cannon, his music traveled from the heart to the deepest reaches of higher consciousness.   With The 13th Floor Elevators, Erickson invented a brand-new style or rock & roll, one that was slightly unhinged while it explored the influence of LSD on music. After three years, the group imploded with mental issues and legal challenges, ending with Erickson being incarcerated for several years in the Hospital for the Criminally Insane in Rusk, Texas. When he was released in the early '70s, the musician continued on his own trail, recording songs that had come to him in his far-flung cerebral wanderings. Erickson, who passed away May 31, 2019, is now celebrated on this 12-track tribute to one of the most original rockers ever. - Light In The Attic Records


One year ago:
The Woodland Garden (Topiaried Cloud)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.