Ne’er cast a clout till May be out

Ne’er cast a clout till May be out
Being a 'Towny' I was brought up with the understanding from my Mother not to leave my vest off till May is over.
As I became a bit more countryfied I became aware that this probably meant until the May Blossom is out. 
Going a bit of research today both seem to have their place in history.
To start with a 'clout' since the 15th century has been used to mean a fragment of clothing (with some different spelling versions)
English farm-workers working in the fields decided that as leaving it to the end of May to cast off their winter clothes was running the risk of heat exhaustion. They adopted the flowering of the hawthorn (May) tree as the thing to look for.
Anyway we have May blossom in our front garden and very nice it is too. I may leave my vest tea shirt on for a little longer.
Image taken with my Canon R with a vintage 50mm f/1/8 Olympus Zuiko lens with an aperture of f/4 plus a 21mm extension tube.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.