Conceptualising

I haven’t experienced a workday like this for quite some time. The group of colleagues was working on what we in the biz term a conceptual model for our project, covering issues related to freshwater health and management in two landscapes (one on the Tanzania/Kenya border and one on the Tanzania/Mozambique border - the latter being my focus). The room was abuzz with the inputs of energetic and well-informed colleagues and I look forward to more interactions whilst I’m in this role. It’s chaos trying to ensure cohesive development of ideas among a group of 25 people breaking into sub-groups, but language can be sharpened post-workshop and pre-deadline.

At dinner I sat with my counterpart from the Tanzania/Kenya landscape, who is German and has 30 years of experience in Africa. I will enjoy absorbing his wise words. We are the only non-Africans present and this is a balance I find very refreshing within the goal of developing grounded and culturally appropriate ideas.

The hotel is not walkable distance to Naivasha town, being as it is located in the outlying settlement of Karagita, which exists principally to house flower farm workers. To avoid cabin fever setting in, I always like to escape the venue at least once in the day, and it’s handy to check out the local amenities.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.