Excelência

Excellency.

Boa noite, excelência, I was greeted with this evening by one of the guards stationed in front of the various offices and homes that I pass. It was a first; I must have looked particularly distinguished in the moment. It’s usually a term I’ve heard at official meetings used to address government bigwigs.

Apart from being exalted as a dignatory on the street, I’ve been perplexed at today’s coverage of the Sudan crisis. Why does the media report blow by blow accounts of the evacuation of a small number of British diplomats at the expense of wider coverage of the war? I don’t believe the British public is so blindly patriotic that they would rather know when embassy staff have flown from Cyprus to Stansted over following the wider impact of the war and the implications for the Sudanese people.

Talking of an unnecessary focus on those with huge comparative privilege, from one of the upper avenues in Maputo you can look across and down to Clube Naval where the wealthy swim, sail and sojourn.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.