Banditos

When I am with Paulo the txopela driver, no matter what the topic of conversation it usually ends in him getting outraged about something and accusing the government of being banditos (bandits/thugs). It’s political discourse I’m in no way opposed to. Anti-government rhetoric spans cultural and geographical barriers beautifully.

I met a project partner for lunch at the little café in front of my old block. Delightful. And sentimental. They have constructed a new, taller gate post, perhaps because security has always been lax.

The most exciting part of the afternoon was when I saw a colleague on Zoom with a surname twenty letters long (not even double-barrelled). It felt hectic. Imagine trying to call up the doctor’s surgery with that beast.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.