Pretty in Pink

Another onion, Allium crispum.  From a different continent to last night's offering, this is a plant of valley grasslands and foothill woodlands in California.   I have just two bulbs, pot grown for now.  Hoping to make more by seed or bulb increase as it's one of the prettiest onions.   The narrow, grass like leaves have dried off and gone now, much as they would in the wild where the plant will flower just before the summer heat really bites.

A morning text ended my lie in.  An invitation to join Jane, John & Jack on the first train up the valley.  Meg and I made it to the station with a few minutes to spare.   I was mildly apprehensive as Meg's last train trip involved her sitting on my lap but still barking a lot!   However, her new found slightly calmer outlook and attention to me saw a much calmer and quieter ride.  Mostly she was happy under the seat or leaned up against one set of legs or another.   A damp, low cloud morning but brighter later, it was good to see the trains quite well loaded.  We adjourned to my place after for tea and biscuits ... except I don't have any biscuits in the house at the moment - trying to kick the habit!    So I hastily rubbed up a batch of scones which proved most acceptable hot from the oven with butter and bramble jelly.

I went on to spend the afternoon with Jamie which included taking both dogs out for a walk together for almost the first time.  Meg's tendency to boil over has meant we've kept them apart out on walks until now, not wanting Meg to teach Bella bad habits.   It was also good to see more of Jamie's craft work at close range this afternoon and to be able to mark his first sale in the railway shop :-)

An evening event at Wharf tonight where I should catch up with a few friends.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.