Iris…

After a busy wedding yesterday I met up with Ruby and Iris for Sunday lunch. This was Iris keenly awaiting her Mum coming back from a shop… I am a shabby substitute!

We’ve decided to make it our mission to find the best Sunday roast in Edinburgh. Today we went to Woodland Creatures on Leith Walk and it was a pretty good start. Roast beef was well cooked (not to be mistaken for well done) given I like my beef rare, it perhaps could have been a little more tender, a steak knife may have helped but the veggies were good, as was the Yorkie and the gravy. Roasties were good (not as good as mine obviously) although I clearly overeat when it comes to tatties cause with the beef to tatties ratio I could have managed at least two more!

My one bug bear is that I really do like a hot plate. I think it may be genetic cause my Mum also likes her food piping hot and I’m always disappointed when I’m served a lovely lunch and the plate is stone cold.

Pudding for me was sticky toffee pudding, Ruby opted for the peach and blackberry crumble, which also would have been my choice, however there was no custard option and a crumble definitely needs custard in my humble opinion.

The service was super, lovely chatty waitress who couldn’t have been friendlier.

I’m going to start with a 7/10.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.