WhatADifferenceADayMakes

By Veronica

May blossom

Sharper in large ... you may also spot the bee.

A somewhat duller day today. I thought I'd take a break from the vine blips, but if you can't get enough of them, here's the extra I forgot to blip yesterday. It really sums up spring here for me, except that you can't hear the birdsong or smell the broom.

Trying to think of ideas for using the massive quantity of unused bread we now have led me to a Diana Henry recipe for butternut squash cheese strata. It ticked a lot of boxes ... a butternut languishing in the veg rack, mozzarella approaching its use-by date, bacon that needed using up, curd cheese, and of course stale bread. It was a rather long and involved project though -- it made it to the table at half past two. It was good, but the lumps of squash seemed out of place -- next time I'd miss them out and put more cheese in it. Some left for later anyway. And we still have lots of bread ...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.