Fern Hill

I’m sure it comes as no surprise that I’m a Dylan Thomas fan. I love the way he uses language, the sound quality of his words almost musical. And so for today’s Mono Monday challenge I’ve opted for Fern Hill - that wonderful celebration of a rural childhood and the poignant realisation that we can escape neither mortality nor the passing of time. 

The opening verse of the poem is full of such verdant richness that a mono image seems inadequate, and my few garden fronds unfurling certainly can’t do it justice - but hopefully the gesture works! 

Now as I was young and easy under the apple boughs
About the lilting house and happy as the grass was green,
     The night above the dingle starry,
          Time let me hail and climb
     Golden in the heydays of his eyes,
And honoured among wagons I was prince of the apple towns
And once below a time I lordly had the trees and leaves
          Trail with daisies and barley
     Down the rivers of the windfall light.


The full poem is wonderful read by Richard Burton, but unfortunately I can’t get the link to work! 

Thanks to 60plus for hosting! 
 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.