Lynese

By Lynese

Rubber Banned

This was the first time since I was a teenager that I tried out a macro lens - in this case a Nikon 105MM f/2.8G IF-ED AF S VR II micro - and my first time in digital.

So, what did I learn?

Macro photography is not for me.

I just don't have the patience required to get that perfect shot. Because I'm still very into quick shooting editorial style photography I've become a little too reliant on the AF which feels rather broad. For example, taking the auto focus off I shot a handful of TicTacs having focused manually and the result was a fabulous bokeh that I'm pleased with. Those pics just aren't worthy of blipping because giant TicTacs are just... well... weird.

Only an extremely talented photographer would ever take the VR off. I'm convinced I only managed a reasonable hit rate because the vibration reduction was very on.

Looking to the future - I'm in no hurry to add a macro lens to my arsenal yet. There's a couple of sweet primes that I'd prefer to invest in which would definitely be used regularly. They would also give me the option of using extension tubes, but that's all way in the future.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.