Rain....

Will it ever stop? We had a record rainfall in April - 5.72 inches. And it's still raining. Granted, it's off and on, most days, but everything is saturated. 

I felt crappy from the antibiotics today - only 4 more days. So I laid low and puttered around with botanical garden stuff and watched the rain from my office window. I got out for a short jaunt around the garden just a bit ago (it's now 5:30 pm) and it's amazing how many blossoms are beginning to unfurl. The main blip, California Poppy - Eschscholzia californica - was looking particularly well-behaved this afternoon. And the extra is yet another poppy: Celandine Poppy or Stylophorum diphyllum. I got the seeds from a friend's garden a couple of years ago and they've created quite a patch already. I don't mind them though - they seem easy to pull up and rather delicate. I may be swearing at them in a couple of years, but for now I'm finding them quite lovely. In yellow only...hence the "celandine" since they look like the plants of the very same name.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.