Feathers?

This does rather look like the feathers on the head of a bird, but of course it's not...you knew it was growing in my garden! It's the lovely, furry seed head of Pusatilla vulgaris or Pasque Flower. I blipped it's lovely purple full bloom here on April 9th. It is a wildflower in many areas...it just doesn't happen to be in the wild in my garden (well by the end of the season it's all rather wild). It does seed itself and makes lovely new plants that I've shared with so many people. Not a pesky plant by any stretch of the imagination, and utterly fascinating from beginning to end. You'll also find it early on here and even earlier, on March 10th here. See how many months of fascination it brings to me? Pure joy! Do consider planting one for your own amusement :-)

Thanks so much for your lovely stars and hearts on yesterdays peony-like pink tulip. I'm so grateful! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.