Information Retrieval

By Syetuttle

Perspective, Respective

Odd you may think this image on the day of Margaret Thatcher's funeral, but much of the talk over the last few days kept bottling down to £10 million being spent on it from the public purse.

Like most people, I thought "mmm, that is a bit steep".

Then I worked out through a very simple calculation:

The British population consists of 63.2 million. The funeral costed £10 million.

Divide £10 million by 63.2 million people and you get £0.16 or 16pence. If there are any mathematic geniuses out there can correct me then please do. I have done this over and over and I still get the above figure.

In short Maggie's funeral cost each one of us 16p.

I am not picking political sides, but this is just another perspective.

As for the funeral itself, I thought it went rather well.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.