Life through the lens...

By ValC

Community garden.

This community garden was started during the first lockdown by a group of pensioners who live in the flats surrounding it.
Originally planted years ago when the flats were first built, it had got very neglected ( by the Council) Full of weeds, overgrown tangled shrubs and brambles.
I pass it on my way to the village shops etc.and have seen it blossoming over the last year or so. The council did give them some money to buy a couple of new benches, but many of the plants have been given, and the rest they have bought themselves.

Yesterday I got chatting to one of the ladies, who’s husband was helping to put up the archways.
She would have liked to have roses growing over them, but because of H&S they aren’t allowed. I can see their point as there are many elderly residents in the flats and they could easily cut themselves on the thorns.

As it is a Community Garden she said I was very welcome to sit there any time.
Once they have finished flowering I am going to give them the daffodil bulbs I have in pots, for which she was very grateful.

I am certainly looking forward to seeing it in all it’s glory this summer.

A very worthy addition to my National Garden Week’s blips.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.