Birds’ Nest Orchid

Firstly, a huge thanks for placing yesterday’s Birthday Bouquetins on the number one spot, honoured indeed. I won’t get round to individual thanks as there isn’t enough time in the day, but I have read, and really appreciate, all your comments. Blipmeets rarely happen in this part of the world but if you are ever anywhere near we can explore some of my favourite places together.


It is the orchid season in our village and they are just starting to flower well: the Late Spider Orchid I have blipped before, several Twyblades, a Lesser Butterfly and plenty of Early Purples. I have never blipped a Bird’s Nest Orchid before probably because it is not “pretty”. They are not in any part green, deriving all their nutrition from a mycorrhizal fungus in the soil/litter, which in turn derives nutrition from the roots of trees. 

Now waiting for the heavens to open, we desperately need more rain so fingers crossed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.