Birgit

By Birgit

Tumulus

The Tomb of Hottomont is one of the most beautiful and largest tumuli in Wallonia.

What I also learned today is that the Chaussee Romaine is located on the ridge that separates the Scheldt basin and the Meuse basin. And on top of that I got an answer on a question I had asked myself when cycling near the coast earlier. My question was about the Dutch language which, as I remember, used to be spoken in the far north-west of France. The answer to that has everything to do with the very same ridge. The Scheldt side was influenced by the Germanic language and the Maas side by the Roman language.

The weather was lovely today.  The wind is still strength three from the east, but it seems much less severe than earlier this week. It should stay nice for another day or three.  Fingers Crossed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.