Views of my world

By rosamund

Sleep

I realised quite late that I had missed all chances of a daytime blip, I have no new crafts to show and all the fab photos I have on my camera from today, I'm not at liberty to share so in desperation I turned to my trusty bedside light for a late night blip.

I had a really good day at work but all the positive energy I expended has left me quite tired. It started with a fantastic reading workshop for the 3 year olds and their parents. There was a really good turn out and it was so good to see the children, whether on the cushions on the floor or cooried on their parent's knee engaging in the excellent range of storytelling experiences we showcased with children and parents enthralled and interacting! Magic! We also took a new approach, instead of bombarding the parents with lots of things they 'should' be doing, we had a few tips printed out and encouraged them each to pick just one that they would actually do today, hopefully it will be the start of something great.

The highlight of the afternoon after the second successful workshop was my meeting bout the Early Years Collaborative, it was so nice to talk about our work to people who find it inspirational and are so impressed that they've already shared it nationally and want to find out more.

We're using a model for improvement that has been used in health for a couple of years so all the examples and case studies are health based. This has left some authorities and services frustrated as they want to see an example from early years, and now they have one, ours. It's the only one from all 32 councils that follows the plan, do, study, act model on a small scale, it's having an impact, my results are measurable and I have charts to prove it. My staff always slag me off for being such a geek and data freak, but it's definitely paying off just now. Only problem I have tonight is switching off my excited brain which is throbbing with ideas while my body is screaming SLEEEEEEEPPPPP!!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.