Windmill 'Sint Oda', Weert

'Weert' = 'Weyrt'

Built in 1883 and already severely neglected.  It was facing away from the road, and I wanted to shoot the front, but there were no footpaths between the detached houses.  Two men were in discussion in the driveway of the house with the garden in which it stood.  I asked politely if there were any paths at the back, and how to get there, whereupon they promptly opened the gates and allowed me to walk all the way to the backyard to take shots, because there simply was no other way.  One of the men is married to the miller's daughter, but she was, and still is, not interested in taking over his duties.  He is now too old to continue, so the mill hasn't been turning for a long time and they doubt it ever will again.  I think that it is an expensive decoration and it's now going to waste.  They think so, too.

A late morning shot in this sunny part of the country.  Clouds from the west were on the way, and by mid-afternoon they had taken over.  AW and I cleared the front shed, and he loaded some stuff into the car and brought these to the recycling centre, or environment centre, while I carried the salvageable items to the blockhut, where most of them will stay.  Later on this week, we will be looking for floor tiles for the front shed, and eventually, after they've been laid, work will begin on the insulation of the walls.  The windows will be cemented shut, and then, later this year, both the shed door and the front door will be replaced by new doors with double glass.  Somewhere in the middle of all of that, I hope to get a new washing machine.  Wonder what name I'll give it.

MOOCked a bit, but the main thing was that I finished Chapter 12.  I kind of like how the weekly ZOOM gathering of the writers' group acts like a deadline.  It's not a strict deadline (if one's head is empty or tired, no obligations, you write what you can and no more), but it is something to go for.  Kitchen duties, other housework took up the rest of the time.

Email came that I did not qualify for the position I applied for.  Saw this coming.  A decade ago, I would have had a sleepless night.  Now, fine with me.  C'est la vie!

A full day with lots of nice bits.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.