Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Don't forget your Vitamin C

Every spring I put out halved oranges for the newly arrived orioles and catbirds.  And every spring at least one chipmunk discovers the delights of oranges.  Seems an odd thing for a little rodent to be eating, but they seem to love them.  At least he didn't try to haul it off to his burrow.

I actually considered posting an Oriole, the first of the season, but I am going to wait in hopes of getting a better shot.  I've put an "okay" shot in Extra.  They are stunningly beautiful birds with colors that are almost unreal.  

Jax and I ran some errands this afternoon, culminating in a trip to Tractor Supply which is always a Super Snifari for him.  What neither of us were expecting was to run into a Therapy Pig!  Yes, a pink and white pig wearing a "therapy pig" harness.  I'm not sure who was more shocked, me or the dog.  Jax had no idea what he was dealing with so he raised all his hackles and glued himself to my leg.  Eventually he dared to approach for a very cautious sniff.  The pig and his handler were really lovely - well, if you discount the snorting noises the pig was making!  I really wish I'd thought to grab my phone for a shot.  

I wanted to spend a little hide time this afternoon and Jax just wouldn't stop barking at the damned hide so he had a time out in his crate.  He used to bark like crazy when we put him in the crate but he's pretty good now and usually settles in.  And that gave me some much needed quiet time out on the deck in my hide.  I watched the bluebird pair hunting insects in the lawn and at one point he took a particularly tasty morsel to feed her.  I will check the box later to see if she's started laying yet.  They are both staying close by, so I expect to see at least one egg.

And I'm having dark with tart cherries today.  

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.