Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Getting My Geek On

I had a whole day to myself today after dropping Jax off at day care.  My first stop was to an area where I hoped to see ducklings and goslings - nothing.  All I got was some drizzle for my efforts.  From there I ran to the bank to pick up some Coata Rican Colons for my trip (although most places are happy to take American dollars).  Then home for lunch with Hubs.  I even did a bit of sorting of things for my trip - very proud of myself as I am usually a last-minute kind of gal when it comes to packing and such.  

Since the sun appeared briefly, I thought I'd take my camera down to our willow trees and see what I could find.  I had seen some of these snazzy beetles a few days ago and was hoping to find one today - which I did.  I took this using my 105 macro lens with Raynox150 attached, on a monopod.  I had to hold the bottom of the leaf steady with my hand to get a clear shot.  I like the Raynox150 but it narrows down the already small depth of field which can make getting focus hard.  I also found clusters of yellow eggs on the willow, as well as some clusters with larva emerging - I believe they are the eggs of this beetle, called a Knab's leaf beetle (Chrysomela knabi) - see Extra for a shot with larva and eggs.

I confess that I enjoy photographing insects as much as birds, maybe even more.  There is the challenge of getting a good image, and then, of course, the challenge of identifying them.  When you consider that there are literally millions of insect species, you can appreciate the challenge of narrowing the id down to a genus, let alone a species.  

The day care posted some pics of Jax playing with his girlfriend Sasha today - as usual they both looked like they are having a blast.  I'm so happy to have found a place like this that takes such care in matching dogs for play, as opposed to the free=for-all that many dog day cares are.  Also nice that on the rare occasions when we board him, we have the peace of mind that they already know and love him.  

Dark with ginger today.

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.