Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Hello there!

My nature group had their first walk of the year today which was great fun.  It was nice to see the people I haven't seen all winter, to catch up.  And since migration is starting in earnest now, we saw a nice selection of birds including both oriole species, yellow warblers, gnatcatchers and a host of others.  It was a little chilly so the insect selection was virtually non-existent.  But we did manage to see two snakes - this small Northern Water Snake and a small garter snake, both in the same area only a few feet apart.  This is one of the smallest water snakes I've ever seen so most likely quite young.  It was draped out on some leaf littler, trying to soak up any available sun (which was scarce today).  Anyway, lots of fun.  

I am putting a shot of a morel mushroom in extra - there is a place on one of the trails we went on where they grow wild.  The location is a well guarded secret for fear that people would come and rip them out of the ground to sauté up with some garlic and butter.  Better to be enjoyed in situ.  

Back at home, I finally saw my first hummingbird of the year at our feeder - very happy!  Hope to get some good images in the next few days.  There is a second catbird on site now too so the male has become vocal which is delightful.

I also saw our resident fox stalking birds of all things.  He doesn't look great and I suspect he's quite hungry.  I would not mind if he thinned the squirrel population a bit to be honest.  

So now Jax is wanting to play and if I continue to ignore him, I won't have a house left standing.  Off I go.

And the dark today was the last of the chili version.  

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.