Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Babies!

I hadn’t been outside very long this morning when I realized that there was  increased activity at the bluebird box.  And a quick peek inside revealed at least 3 naked, blind baby bluebirds.  I suspect the other two are buried under these three but I will wait a day or two to confirm.  For now, both parents are busy bringing appropriate sized arthropods into the nestlings.  I will put a shot of mama in Extra and if you look close you will see that she has a very tiny spider.  I suspect the babies probably hatched yesterday.  And if my calculations are accurate, they will fledge several days after I return from CR!  Which will help the inevitable “return to normal” slump that I will likely experience.

This morning I got 2 deliveries - one from Nikon with my repaired D750 and the other from the rental place with the Z6ii.  I quickly unpacked everything and then set out learning the mirrorless.  I think I have the settings more or less the way I want them and now I will just spend the next 4 days getting completely (or mostly) comfortable with the camera.  

I am very happy that the Z was delivered earlier than expected.  I discovered that the card reader I have won’t read the CFExpress card that I got for the Z.  Luckily, I can get a dual CFE/QRX from Amazon delivered tomorrow.  Between the D850 and the Z6ii, I need to be able to read 3 different types of cards!  At least both cameras use the same batteries so I don’t have to scramble for that.  I will have 6 batteries with me along with a dual charger so I should be good. None of the other people in the group shoot Nikon so I can’t rely on borrowing - means I have to pack well.  

Tomorrow morning I am giving a presentation on Monarch butterflies to a group of educators.  It should be a lot of fun and I’m looking forward to it.  

I had to dip into the dark with ginger again today.  It’s a lovely combo

Xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.