Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Special Delivery

I was surprised to see Papa bluebird heading into the beatbox with such a large caterpillar.  In fact, at first I thought he might be bringing it for Missus, but she was on a nearby perch when he went into the box.  I can only imagine that he tore it into much smaller pieces before trying to feed it to the nestlings.

And in case you're wondering, I didn't fiddle with the color on this at all - the way the sun was hitting him made his feathers just look so intensely blue and I was happy that the camera caught what I was seeing.  Handsome creature, isn't he?

I did a presentation on Monarch Butterflies to a group of educators (current and retired) and it turned out to be a really wonderful group of women.  I enjoyed myself and it seems that they enjoyed the presentation too, so win-win.  

Back at home, Hubs had finished power washing the deck in preparation for repainting it.  I took the Z6ii for a short spin in the garden with the 100-400 lens attached before swapping it out for the 105 macro.  Wasn't happy with any of the macro shots, but that was partially due to the very harsh light.  I will try to get out tomorrow morning before I chat with my parents and while the sun isn't quite so intense.  Just need to get some more practice in before it's Show Time!  

Haven't made the dark decision yet, but perhaps something with nuts.

Four days to lift off.

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.