Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Newbie

Although this is not a fabulous photo, I am going with it today because it represents a new species of bee in our garden - a Milwaukee Mining Bee (Andrea milwaukeensis).  It's about the size of a honeybee but fuzzy all over and having a darker thorax than our typical bumble bees.  A fun find!

I had a nice FT chat with my parents this morning - all is well on the other coast and they are heading into a week of nice weather which means they will be able to get out and do some walking.  Good for body and soul.

I had the Z6ii out again today with a macro lens, which is what I used for this shot.  I am getting the feel for it now I think.  I am putting one other shot in Extra - the first damselfly of the year!  Haven't identified it yet, but maybe an Eastern Forktail.  

Jax kept me company while I was pottering around the garden with my camera, although eventually it got a little warm for him so I took him back inside.  He's sound asleep at the moment.  While I was out I spotted a beautiful male Rose-breasted Grosbeak near the feeders; unfortunately no photos since all I had on my was the macro lens.  Still, it was lovely to see him.

We are meeting friends for dinner tonight so I am limiting myself to one small square of dark with ginger.  

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.