Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Simple Sixteen

My 16th blipped yardbird this year and also a yard-first for me.  This plain little bird is a warbling vireo and what it lacks it snappy colors it makes up for with its lovely warbling song, reminiscent of that of a purple finch.  I spotted him/her in one of the cherry trees as I was crouched, shivering, in my hide.  It flitted to the serviceberry tree where I was able to clearly see it's vireo beak.   And it's nondescript markings made it easy to identify from there as the other vireos we see at this time of year all have more definitive markings.  

It's been a really enjoyable day starting with a late sleep which I sorely needed. Then bestie Ellen drove up and she, Hubs, and I went for a very leisurely lunch at a local farm.  We lingered over sandwiches until the place was empty, reminiscing and laughing.  We've known each other for a long time, having all worked together in years gone by.  And now, Hubs and Ellen are working together again - a nice symmetry I think.  Anyway, it was just really nice - we all needed it I think.  

Jax, having been left alone in his crate for a while, is now full of pent up mischief so I'd best give Hubs a break.  We bought some fresh farm-made cheese ravioli for dinner, so don't have much else to do today.  It's wet and cold and miserable outside, so I predict we'll all be curled up on the sofa in a few hours time.

And I think something dark and simple for me.

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.