Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Delicious Fifteen

Glad I waited for a better opportunity to grab some shots of the Baltimore Orioles.  Today was perfect with a light rain and my hide already set up and ready on the deck.  I spotted this fine male eating oranges and shot out to the hide to wait for him to come back.  Didn't take long and he stayed around for a few hours.  When he'd had his fill of oranges, he'd fly up into the mostly bare trees at the edge of our woods where he would somehow blend right in.  Hard to think of a bright orange and black bird blending in, isn't it?

We have two oriole species that nest in our area although neither have ever nested on our property.  In the case of Baltimore Orioles, they like to be closer to water; in the case of the other less common Orchard Oriole, they also like to be near water, but also open fields.  So, my best chances for good close up photos are in the spring migration when they arrive in perfect plumage and full of song.  Lucky me.


It's rained all day so I've been trying to keep Jax busy with training and other indoor activities.  He hates rain, so even if I was up for a walk, he'd be unwilling.  His trips outside today have been extremely efficient.  And we've been working hard on "drop it" and "leave it".  Slow going, but he is definitely getting the hang of it.  

I noticed Missus Bluebird going in the box today and staying, so I think she is brooding eggs now.  I'll check the box tomorrow and see if she stopped at 4 eggs or if she laid a 5th this morning.  Usually the first brood is 5, but  we won't know for sure until I get a look in the box.  It's chilly today, so if she's done laying, she'll stay on the eggs tonight to keep them warm.  Mister will roost somewhere up in the trees where he can keep watch.  I feel privileged to watch the secret lives of the birds here.

Not much else to report today so I think I will have a bit of dark chocolate...

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.