Truce

Another late posting, and another day when I’m afraid I’ve had little time to look at journals. I will catch up - I promise. And thank you for the lovely comments, hearts and stars for yesterday’s Salford Quays. 

We’re in Liverpool where we stayed last night, and it’s a very cultural day. I’ve wanted to visit the new Tung Auditorium having passed it several times on hospital visits. Today we attend a lunchtime concert with performances by university students - excellent, particularly a saxophone concerto. 

This evening it’s the Welsh National Opera’s Madam Butterfly. I’m not really an opera buff, but I’m a sucker for the emotional pull of Puccini’s melodies, and this doesn’t disappoint.It’s a starkly modern production which we both love.

Between both, it’s back to our apartment to rest; I can cope with these city breaks as long as I pace myself. I don’t take my camera anywhere today - but of course my phone is always with me, so for my main there’s a night  shot of the sculpture of the famous Christmas Truce of 1914 outside St Luke’s ‘bombed out church’. much of Liverpool was, of course, destroyed in WW2 - and in many ways it’s still being redeveloped. But the walls of St Luke’s stand as a memorial to the city’s destruction. The sculpture itself - the work of  Andy Edwards - has an interesting history, having been displayed in Belgium on the centenary of this poignant truce. The sculpture wrote: 

This is a call to be brave. It celebrates that auspicious occasion when soldiers from either side of a conflict which bore 37 million casualties put aside their fear, hunger, anger and sorrow and shared gifts, including the most famous game of football ever played. Our small but growing team are giving our all in frantically creating - with no money - a prototype of a monument to that trust in each other. That cause must never be forgotten."

I know so many of us long for that truce, that trust …… and passionately hope that it can be restored. 

Thanks to Bobsblips for hosting. 

More information on the church, the sculpture and the auditorium can be found below. 


https://thetungauditorium.com/our-venue

https://www.slboc.com/the-story

http://trucestatue.co.uk/about.html 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.