Tim's Photo Place

By japanobserver

Graveyard

My wife's father is here and we came today to clean the grave site and put some flowers. He died when she was only 13 and so I have never met him in person; only in spirit. I know this looks crowded and indeed it is. No bodies here, of course, since cremation is the rule in Japan. I do not have a family in Japan and so I have no plot for my memorial, should I want one. I am hoping that maybe when the time comes I can sort of join with my wife's family and be taken care of in this graveyard. I know, sort of morbid thoughts but you got to have them sometime. I like the peaceful nature of this place. We were the only people there and the smell of the incense we placed on the gravestone wafted all the up to where I was when I took the photo with my iPhone.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.