Tim's Photo Place

By japanobserver

Bye Bye Blackbird

Got my trumpet back from the music store where it had been for several weeks (I think a month!) getting a cleaning job, etc. I had just been getting back into the swing of things and it was taken away to get fixed. She has come back in fine form and I have saved myself some money in not buying a new horn. I have a Doc Severison Eterna model from Getzen. Bought it with my Dad in New York probably in 1972. I hear a new one costs something like $3500 now. We probably paid $500 for it at the time. It was not outrageously expensive but certainly not cheap either. For all of my high school days all I did was play the trumpet in jazz bands. I am so happy to be back at it. Bought one of those song books with a DVD to play along with. It is a really god trio in the back. Here you can see the trumpet part for an old standard.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.