A Week or Two Yet!

We went up to Haytor Vale to meet Marian's cousin and her husband for lunch, they're always good company and we had a good lunch. As we were close, I thought we'd go along to Emsworthy Mire to see if the bluebells were out. As we walked down there Marian spoke to a guy dressed in camo with a long lens. He was looking for a cuckoo, you can always hear one around there anytime after April.

We carried on to the red barn, there are a few patches of bluebells but I think it will be another week or maybe two before it looks good. I couldn't resist getting down low for a closeup shot against the barn.

On the way back there was getting to be quite a twitch developing. I think the cuckoo was further over towards Emsworthy Rocks. it seems very sad that when I was a youngster, cuckoos were common as muck, you heard and saw them everywhere. Now they're on the Red List, which means the highest conservation priority.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.