Derelict Water Tower...

...but very authentic. There would have been water in a tank in the top bit, pumped up there by the windmill. the bottom narrower part would have contained a staircase to access the tank. There are still a lot of these around, many of which have been converted to studios, viewing platforms or even offices. This one has weathered interestingly and although some effort has been made to protect the roof, it appears to be gracefully leaning....

It felt a bit like groundhog day as I rose stumbled out of bed, into my clothes and back to the physical therapy office this morning. Take two was more successful with a meeting with a physical therapist who pronounced my lower back 'pretty stiff', prescribed some exercises and hooked me up to a t.e.n.s. unit for ten minutes. I was back home by 8:30 with just enough time for a cup of coffee before keeping our appointment with Kathy. The newspaper had the usual quotient of horrible stories from Ukraine and because of the 'super drought' we will be having a 'super fire risk' this season. 

I am now scheduled for two times a week through June although,  already having established my inability to read a calendar,  I'm not sure it will be conflict free. 

John seems to be more tolerant of the constant beeping than I am and has been out in the garden  pursuing ground squirrels while I have been hanging out in the workroom with my air pods and a podcast. I told him that although it wouldn't do anything about the noise, it would be nice to have our screen of trees back just so I didn't have to keep looking over there and wondering what the hell they are doing.*

Clearly, I am feeling intolerant and grumpy today. Maybe I got up too early....

*It turns out that John wasn't chasing ground squirrels, he was down by the fence getting the full report from Bart. The story is that they were all ready to pour the concrete slab for the floor of the fortress house when some inspector (one of three they are required to have) said that the dirt they had brought down to put back in the foundation trenches wasn't tamped down enough, so they had to dig up the trenches again and fill them with gravel, which is what they have been doing for the last two days. good to know...I guess.

Some newish neighbors from across the street are coming over for some wine and cheese later. Our garden is at it's best right now and It's not really cold today, but it is overcast and, being wimpy Californians, we may not sit outside. At least the beeping should have stopped by then....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.