San Francisco Woodland Star

The weather hasn't improved noticeably, it's still cold and rain, but the rain held off long enough for us to take Spike on his walk to the meadow after coffee. While I was taking its picture a park ranger leading a group of kids up to the newt pond shouted across the meadow that Spike  needed to be on a lead. John didn't argue with her, although, being blind, Spike doesn't chase wildlife, but as soon as she disappeared down the hill with her group, John took the lead off again. 

The wildflowers have decided that it is spring even though the weather doesn't indicate that it is, and there was a wonderful selection of blue, yellow and white flowers poking up through the rattlesnake grass and sprouting from the banks beside the trail. I loved the transient sunlight  on the tiny white flowers in today's shot, but I am having trouble transferring my photos from phone to computer and the bright whiteness was lost by the time I figured out a rather roundabout way of doing it.  

Getting out took a toll on my cranky knee, but I was certainly in a better mood for the effort. By the time we got home I opted not to go out again to pick up the sewing machine, but John, who had to go out for his 'light show' picked it up for me. I hope he begins to see some improvement as a result of these treatments because, having only one car, going three times a week puts quite a dent in our scheduling. 

Speaking of dents, we noticed a new one on the side of our car which neither one of us believes we made. It matches the one on the opposite side which I did cause when I backed into the cleaner's car several years ago and never got around to having fixed. It probably happened in a parking lot somewhere, but I was pleasantly surprised when John came home and said he'd made an appointment to get them fixed.

I've been hearing from family members who have been incommunicado lately.  Grandson Owen texted out of the blue to say that he loved the books I sent him for Christmas, and was quite chatty about what he is reading and how much he likes it.  Niece Lindsay called to thank us for the quilt I made for baby Sage. I was beginning to worry about them, but she said they moved on March 1st, and Sage was born on the 13th, a month early so they were just beginning to get their heads above water. She and 7 year old daughter Grace and I chatted for quite awhile. Grace told me she loves having a baby sister and living on a houseboat in Sausalito, and she made the best sand castle she had ever made today. 

Hope it doesn't rain on Charles and Camilla's parade in London tomorrow....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.