…Loading

It turns out that John has been paying a monthly fee for certain Microsoft programs that don’t come with Hewlett-Packard Packard computers (don’t ask…I don’t know what any of it means) but the result was that everything was backed up on the cloud as well as whatever Jim managed to put it on. Here they are waiting for everything to load onto the new computer. The old computer was only a year and a half old so shouldn’t have died, but it did and I stayed out of it.

I am braising a pork shoulder today for a big pot of posole tomorrow. We are expecting Susan, the daughter of our Magnolia Street neighbors, and her current partner tomorrow, so I am cooking dinner and Jim and Dana and Peter will come here. We had thought we’d barbecue something but it just isn’t barbecue weather yet. It was raining this morning, so we skipped the farmer’s market and I concentrated on what I was going to cook.

I have been less than inspired in the cooking department lately. My excuse is that my knee/leg hurts more when I’m standing still than anything else I do, but it could also be that 60+ years of cooking dinner has simply used up all my creative brain cells….

I am somewhat intrigued by the tradition of the coronation today and feel that since I saw Elizabeth’s coronation when I was about 11 I should at least look in on poor old Charles who has waited sibling for his turn.He looks like an old man in the pictures I’ve seen.

I’m not, however intrigues enough to get up at 2am to watch the livestream. I’m perfectly content to wait until this evening when we usually tune into a British mystery (think Endeavor, Morse, Lewis, etc.) Strikes me that the succession is something of a mystery, as well as as are the machinations of the royals and the quaint traditions whose meaning are lost in the mists of time, known only to those who make a career of studying them and interpreting them for the masses…especially American ones.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.