Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Hair and there

Friends arriving this afternoon, so a bit of housework, mainly dusting, was required. I happened to look up in the bathroom and to my horror I saw 13 years of dust on the spotlights which are away up high. I've never looked up there before, but now that I had, I was obliged to do something about them. The big stepladder was dragged out and they were dusted. I'm of the Quentin Crisp opinion on dust - After the first year or so, it doesn't get any worse. I hope they notice the dustless lights. And every visitor we've ever had has probably noticed the dusty version...

I've had an idea for a blip for while, so thought I'd try this morning. There's an old fashioned hair dresser stylist nearby, and there's a closing down sign in the window. There are three of those old massive hairdryer things near the window. I was only ever under one of them once when I was about 9. My mother must have persuaded me to get my hair 'done'. While I was being tortured under one of them, my brother came in for a laugh. I told him it was rather uncomfortable underneath one.

Actually, I did not 'tell' him. I hollered at him, the dryers being rather loud. What I probably shouted was, 'It's murrrrderrr under here!' The whole shop heard. And probably out on the pavement too.

I popped in. They could guess right away (wonder why) that I was not a potential customer. (I must have saved a fortune never doing anything with my hair). I asked if I could take some photos. I sometimes add, 'It's a new camera, I'm trying it out' which is a little white lie. I should say, 'It's a relatively new camera', but that seems a bit superfluous.

Lorraine, the hair dresser stylist, and the customer, were quite happy for me to do so. I loved all the old fittings. Nothing flash in here. Not even loud banging muzak. It was all very pink. It's as far removed from the modern hair dressers stylists as you can get. Lorraine is moving on to another job. I suppose her customers will follow her. I hope the new venue is not too much of a shock.

May not have time for commenting much this evening. The bubbly is on ice.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.