Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Today's the Day!

Hehe! That fooled you. I bet you thought I'd blip my new iPad today! acyclinggranny suggested that I might not get too much sleep last night. Piffle. Though I was pressing buttons trying to stop the strange repetitive noise on my new iPad when I realised it was the alarm and yes, I had been dreaming about it!

This morning I met up with an old pal of mine (less of the old, thank you!) S. She came with her family to Edinburgh from Palestine 57 years ago. She was a leading light in promoting IT in schools in Edinburgh over the last few decades.

I was lucky enough to escape from the classroom for a while and work with S in this endeavour, and I felt that it was my first 'proper, grown up' job:

I had my own desk.
I was given a Mac laptop.
I could go in in the mornings, make a coffee, have a chat with adults and then go to my desk.
I arranged my own timetable.
There were no bells.
Every day was different.
I was not stressed.
I was not stuck in an office/classroom, I was out and about round the city daily
But best of all - I was learning something new every day!

I went around schools helping teachers to get to grips with IT. It never ceased to thrill me to be able to sit in a coffee bar and have my cuppa on the way back to the office - I always felt like I was 'bunking'. Delicious. I was new to Macs, but this put me on the right path, and I've never looked back!

We went to see the sculpture exhibition at Modern One (hate the new names, but I'm trying to use them). I took a couple of photos of S standing beside the huge (5 metres!) hyper-lifelike newborn baby by Ron Mueck. Then some other visitors told me I wasn't supposed to take photos. So I didn't use it, but I've put in a link.

We were both amazed at some of the 'art works'. Sorry - some fingerprints framed? Pieces of white paper framed? At least with Mueck, you can see there's talent and creativity, even if it is a bit grotesque...

Right. Off to pick up You Know What! I shall be otherwise engaged tonight!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.