Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Uncle A touches the New iPad. Declares it FAB!

Well, I've spent all morning just fiddling around with my new toy. Adding photos and music and games and apps. What joy! I'm quite anal, and have to have them all arranged in wee folders eg, Techie, News, Photography, Time Wasters etc. Being anal takes time!

Time when I should have been filling in a big multi-page form for the Pension Service re my work history in NZ. They need to check up if I actually did any work in my 25 years there, and will then award me a small stipend.

I do hope they don't check up with the lady I did nanny-ing for. She was on a farm, and nappies were washed in those days, and I used to burn the really bad nappies. But I cunningly got a teaching job before they ran out completely.

Of course, most of it is ancient history - house-maiding in Queenstown in 197??? And when was I an orderly? Oh, and there was that plastic tap factory... If I'd been blipping then, it'd be no problem!

It took me hours and hours of tortuous recollections several months ago. Several months ago, you ask? Yes, I filled out the very same multi-page form last year, and rang them recently to see how they were getting on with their NZ enquiries.

"What form? No, we haven't got this form from you!"

SO.... another form has been sent to me and has been sitting. Waiting. It was one of my indoor jobs weeks ago today.

I had to actually remove myself from the new iPad in its lovely green cover. We had to be in separate rooms. Even then, when I got stuck at something (which was every new question, frankly) I'd think "Oooh, so-and-so might have posted this morning," and just go and check.

Uncle A came over to see the photos of the family day at Easter and of course, to see and touch the new iPad. He's just been browsing a celebrity website. I think that's Angelina Jolie he's showing us...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.