Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Culture Vulture?

A few days ago I had a letter from the Man in Charge of the Fountain. I'd written ages ago wondering why it was never actually founting. The reply took so long because I had addressed it wrongly. My man has a proper title - Collections Care Officer - Monuments.

He claims that it has been founting every year between Easter and September, except last year. (Funny I never noticed it, but I bow to his insider knowledge). He says there is a major leak and they can't find it, and they need to 'identify a means of pressure grouting waterproof lime mortar between the stonework below the waterline'. I love it when experts spout forth. But in this case, there is no spouting, of course - that's the problem.

This is proving more difficult than he first imagined. I can imagine. Sounds terrible. However, he assures me that he'll continue with his efforts to get it flowing again as soon as possible this summer. Good on him!

So that's all good.

Today I was having a house-worky kind of morning. These things have been abandoned of late. Washing, ironing, stroking of my new iPad in its attractive bright green cover...

During one prolonged stroking session, I just happened to pop into the App store. And there it was, an app that I'd seen used on a blip a few weeks ago and though I'd filed it in the 'Must Have' part of my brain, I'd forgotten about it! Very exciting. App downloaded. Chores abandoned. Off out to play with it for the morning. Results later!!

Out to the theatre tonight. That's three times I've been since starting blipping, so I hope some of you are realising what a culture vulture you have in your midst! :-)

No, not really, I can go for months and the most culture I get is Antiques Roadshow (er, does that count?). I was hoping to get a late blip inside the Lyceum, as it's really gorgeous, in a small, quiet way. But I had a stand-by blip ready just in case. Had time to fiddle about with settings and ISO. And I had a handy ledge for resting the camera on for the slow speed.

Last time we had to queue with touchy-feely-smoochy couples right in front and touchy-feely-smoochy couples right behind. I studied the ceiling a lot. And the floor. I always feel like ruffling the hair of one of them (from behind) and seeing how long it takes for them to realise that their beloved suddenly has three hands!

It was all right this time. Same folk, funnily enough, but maybe they were having a slight domestic. The play was as the reviews said 'gruesomely absurd and absurdly gruesome' but very funny in parts. Great scene changes.

Right. Back home, and time for another wee play with my new toy, and the new toy app on the new toy! Great joy!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.