GUSTS OF WIND

around me on my little cycle tour.
But happily enough no branches or twigs coming down on my head, nor was I blown off the path. A cloudless blue sky above me.
Many years ago, when we lived in Kamerik, a village north of Woerden, my sister and I found once a turtle in a canal that sat upon a pool, we thought, wrongly that someone had left it there and we took it home. The turtle lived for many years at my sisters home and got every couple of years a new home, bigger and bigger.
Then I do not remember why the turtle came to live with us. And after some time the creature died and I buried him/her beneath the little pond I was making at that time. I do not remember it the turtle had ever a name. I'll ask my sister if she remembers more details.
When I saw the turtle on the branch yesterday I was not inclined at all to take her home. This morning I passed along the branch looking for her but she was not longer there.

My haiku:

She descended on
The branch and for one moment
Got his interest

And the proverb:

She/He that pries into every cloud may be stricken with a thunderbolt.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.