With lamb

Biking home from physio I stopped to sort out my shoe and chat to the ewes. Isn't it crazy to be wearing shorts and a t-shirt on 6 May?!

Having recently questioned a Southland farmer about sheep pregnancies, I feel qualified to pass comment on these girls.

They're pregnant.

How do I know? Well some have crayon marks near their rear ends, which means the ram has paid a visit.

Why have only some ewes got a crayon mark and others haven't?

Well the rams and the ewes spent some time together. Then the farmer put the harness thing with the crayon on the boys. Any ewes still cycling had a visit from the ram. The rest were already pregnant.

How come the sheep are grazing what appears to be a bare paddock?

I have no idea. The sheep in Southland had lots of grass or the tops of swedes to eat. We didn't have a conversation about the benefits (or otherwise) of grazing a bare paddock.

I won't be giving up my day job. ;-)

Today's gratitude: For taking initiative at work this morning. It was the right thing to do.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.