More Adventures in Bars

Away from Tarbert at 9am after setting up my reefing lines. Oh dear, that didn’t go well. The sail has three reefing points and I’d rigged up one and two on the leech and two and three on the luff. Much arsing about at the harbour mouth till I got it half sorted.
And I’m glad I did as off Skipness Point there was a fine NW blow which powered me onward. I was keeping up with a gaff rigger and when the wind dropped he put out more sail. Me too! Big mistake. Christ, there’s some power in sails and lines which very quickly becomes very challenging. Nuff said.
So, onto the pontoons, and the crew alongside who thankfully took my lines (they’d been in Tarbert) invited me for a pint. Well I had to accept.
Though later I was aff elsewhere - the Kilbrannan Bar. The place is Rangers daft (Campbell-town may be a clue). Though it was Real Madrid v Man City we were watching. Fabulous drama. And to finish off, a dram of Springbank. It would have been very wrong not to. The finest whisky in Scotland, after all.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.