Rocky Mountain Moments

By pipersmom

Sights from my Bike Ride

Yesterday was the perfect weather day, and today looked like a carbon copy...until I got out on my bike.  Then clouds and wind moved in.  It was still really warm, though, around 80F.  I decided to ride west, straight into the wind, so I wouldn't have to fight it on the way back when I'd be tired.  Fortunately, it didn't change direction, and I had a wonderful tailwind on the last leg of my 22 mile ride. 

I love this shot of Mama Bison and her baby, so I had to make it my main image.  My usual collage is in the extra.

Top Row:           I don't know what this tree is, but it was beautiful and had a heavenly fragrance.
                           I knew where Piper and her dad were walking, so I rode by to say hello on my way out of town.  Piper thought it would be more fun to go with me and gave her dad a hard time until I was out of sight.
                           American White Pelican

Medium:           Western Meadowlark, singing his little heart out :-)
                           Colorful display
                           Red-tailed Hawk showing off his tail feathers

Bottom:            Camouflaged Great Blue Heron.  Leaves are starting to fill in around their nests and I didn't see any signs of chicks yet.  Hopefully, we'll be able to see them popping their heads up before the leaves hide them.
                           Black-tailed Prairie Dog
                           Beautiful and fragrant flowering trees lining the path.  I think these are Crabapple trees.

I am grateful that I didn't give up after the first few miles which I was seriously considering, because it turned out to be a good ride despite the wind. :-))

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.