Back Seat Boy

Our tabbycat Dexter has some odd habits. One of them is that he likes me to take him out into the garage and sit in my car with him. How does he communicate to me that he wants to do this? He stands by the door to the garage and caterwauls!

Once inside the car, sometimes he likes to walk all around and check things out. All the floor mats. The back window shelf. Sometimes he crawls under a front seat and comes out the other side. Occasionally he gets stuck. (And eventually unstuck.)

But mostly he likes to just settle into the back seat beside me and set up a loud and very satisfied PURR. I have a cat blanket - given to me by a very good friend - lining the back seat. So maybe he feels at home there.

You might think that Dexter adores actually riding in the car, but alas he does not. When we transport him, he tends to set up a loud howl, at least for the first portion of the drive, and he sheds something awful, and he eventually falls asleep.

But in the back seat, with me beside him and the car not moving, he is in paradise! (As the vet said to us with a grin on Dexter's last visit, "Spoiled, much?" Well, yeah, maybe . . . just a little.)

The song to accompany this blip . . . hmm, back seat boy . . . back seat, back street . . . how about some Backstreet Boys, As Long As You Love Me.

P.S. In an effort to get caught up on blips, I'm posting two blips today: Tuesday's and Wednesday's. Be sure to check them both out!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.