Home & Away

By HeidiAndDolly

Colourful Boston

This morning I woke up in Boston!  This time we are staying in Seaport, or the South Boston Waterfront. This is an historic area, overlooking the site of the Boston Tea Party in 1773. Built on landfill in the 1800s, by the 20th century it had became an industrial wasteland filled with abandoned warehouses and empty parking lots. Over the last 20 years it has been transformed into a swanky neighbourhood with museums and galleries, high-end restaurants and retail, and expensive condos. It’s certainly very colourful!  

I spent the afternoon walking along the harborwalk, enjoying the views over the water. Towards the north you can see Logan International Airport (there’s even a water taxi to the airport!), and to the west is the view of the downtown area (bottom middle in the collage). I crossed the bridge over the channel and continued on to the aquarium, now looking east over the water (top middle in the collage). I turned around at that point and headed back to my chosen place for a very late lunch - The Barking Crab. It had been recommended to me and it didn’t disappoint! I sat outside on the patio and indulged in New England lobster roll (delicious!) and a NO-ALCOHOL beer.

Sadly I had to slowly head back to the hotel so that I could have an evening nap for a couple of hours. Our flight back to London is at the very late hour of 11pm!

Other pictures in the collage:
Middle left and right:
The colourful animals are part of an art installation called 'Air Sea Land' by the Spanish contemporary artist Okuda San Miguel. These are two of seven ‘pop-surrealist’ sculptures.

Top Left - Attrape-Soleil by French artist Daniel Buren.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.