‘A Wikipedia Curiosity’

Had lunch in Glasgow today with my daughter, her husband and the grandchildren and then spent a relaxed afternoon with them.

Spent some time with my 11 year old granddaughter, AmÄ—lie, looking at iPhone photos we had each taken recently, and looking in particular at some of the amazing things the iPhone portrait mode can do. (See her photo of me in extra, playing with the depth of field)

Later we went for a brief walk. This included crossing the suburban railway line at Jordanhill Station, where I spotted this plaque. 

I vaguely remember when this happened, over 15 years ago now, amazed at the rapid growth of the still relatively new Wikipedia in the 5 years since it had started, and amused that an obscure Scottish suburban station had featured in such a memorable milestone. I certainly hadn’t realised, though, that there was a plaque to commemorate it!

There are currently more than 6 million separate articles in the English Wikipedia alone containing a total of over over 4 billion words.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.